Hey Guys.

So this week I had an English assessment to write about my hero, and then do a presentation about it to the class. This kind of thing terrifies me, but it had to be done, so I wrote my speech and I thought I’d share it with you all today.

When we were told that one of the topics for our speech could be our hero I know that was the topic I wanted to talk to you about, but then came the problem : who is my hero? I considered all the usual options : Nelson Mandela, Martin Luther King, Winston Churchill, but nothing seemed to fit. So I did what I always do when I’m not getting anywhere with a homework, I started watching youtube videos. I checked my subscription box and at the top was a video from the Ellen DeGeneres show, and right then I realised that I’d be talking about Ellen in my speech about my hero.
As well as being the voice of Dory, Ellen DeGeneres has been a household name in America and around the world since the early 1980’s. First she was a stand up comedian, then as an actress, starring in movies as well as having her own sitcoms. In 1997 Ellen Degeneres became the first openly lesbian actress to play an openly lesbian character on a sitcom. Ellen has hosted the Grammy Awards, the Primetime Emmy awards and has hosted the Oscars twice. As well as hosting these award shows she has won a lot awards too, including 29 Emmy’s, 17 People’s Choice awards.
Although all of these achievements are amazing, these are not the reasons that I see Ellen DeGeneres as my hero. In 2003 Ellen started her daytime talkshow “The Ellen DeGeneres Show” and since then there have been over 2000 episodes of the show. Ellen has ended every show with the phrase “Be kind to one another” for the last 13 years and this is something that I admire her for. Ellen isn’t a stranger to voicing her opinions on things that she believes in and feels strongly about, and the causes she supports are all great causes.
Ellen is openly an activist for several causes including women’s rights and gay rights and she can also be known to campaign to end animal cruelty. Ellen has inspired many people to follow in her footsteps, making more people step up and speak out about what they believe in. Ellen is a role model for many young people all around the world. She tells us “Sometimes you can’t see yourself clearly until you see yourself through the eyes of others” which in my opinion is a very strong message to young people today as we live in a society obsessed with appearance, but Ellen tells us that we need to think of how others view us, as if we are kind and have a genuine personality it doesn’t matter if we don’t have perfect hair or the latest clothes.
Ellen has also been known to have several ways to see just how kind people are. In January she received her 17th people’s choice award for being the “choice Humanitarian” Her talkshow has a segment called “cash for kindness” where ordinary people receive money if they show kindness to others in need. Ellen has donated huge amounts of money to charities and people in need including $1.7 million to schools, $21.6 million to charities and $35 million to her viewers in need. She has given people cash and massive cheques as well as cars and even built a house for a family in need. It is almost impossible to count how many people that she has helped.
Ellen has also shown her support to several causes including anti-bullying, domestic violence charities, animal charities, she has shown her support for education for every child and raises awareness about natural disasters. She has spoken out against issues like global warming, racism and hunger.
Ellen has said that she started her career as a comedian because she wanted to make people happy and make them laugh, but she thinks that what she does now is better because she gets to change people’s lives for the better, and she the changes that she has created, however that doesn’t mean that Ellen isn’t still funny. Over the last 13 years Ellen has pranked over 120 celebrities on her show and has had several funny segments including segments where she shows old photos of celebrities, makes people in the audience play games for prizes or even by getting her audience to dance, which she does on every show.
Ellen’s kindness and generosity, as well as her humour and courage to speak out have won her many awards for many different things, however possibly the biggest award she will ever receive is the Presidential Medal of Freedom, which she received from President Obama 2 weeks ago.
Ellen is my hero, and the topic of my speech, because she can be there for people. She stands up for what she believes in, she can make people laugh, and she gives people who are in need a chance to get the help they need. Ellen is also incredibly generous. Every year she hosts the “12 Days of Giveaways” on her talk show, where every person receives gifts of over $2000 value. Ellen has the ability, like many other influential people, to make a difference, but while she could just decide to donate money to charity, Ellen uses her position to try to get others involved. She has inspired many people to “be kind to one another” and this is a very inspiring thing to me, so that makes her a hero in my eyes.

I hope you guys enjoyed the post. I’ll have a November favourites up next week hopefully.

On another note I’m loving the snow animation on the blog, what do you guys think?

Let me know if you enjoyed the post below and post who your hero is and why in the comments.

Until next time,

Erin.

