Hey guys,

So as you guys know, recently I was away on holiday. It was great, but my family and I didn’t do much other than sit by the pool, which is great because I got to do lots of reading. One book I read is Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. So here’s my review of it.

*May contain spoilers*

Having heard about how great the movie was, but having not actually seen it, I thought that taking the Me Before You book on holiday would be a great idea, because I can never find a good book to read on holiday and always end up rereading books that I’ve read a million times before.

My initial thoughts of the book were on a whole very positive. I found it a little confusing at the start as the characters in the prologue weren’t really mentioned in the first chapter or two so I was a little bit confused about who they were, what part they had to play in the story and when they would come back into the story, but as I read on it all became very clear and I could start understand the story.

As the story progressed, and you got to know all of the different characters, I could feel myself becoming almost engrossed in the book. I took it with me to the pool, to the beach, to meals. It was never very far so that if I had a spare moment I could pick it up and keep reading.

During the book, there are some very funny moments and some very sad moments. You can almost feel like you’re in the book during some parts. You can feel the characters pain. You smile when you imagine they’d be smiling. You sometimes even cry when they’d be crying. (I cried a lot) The story, even when it seems like there isn’t a lot going on, is actually moving very rapidly. And when something unexpected happens, you’re shocked but you were expecting it at the same time.

Going towards the end of the book you can feel a sense of time running out. You feel the same hope that you know the characters would be feeling, but you also feel the sense of dread. You don’t want the book to end. You don’t want the story to be over. And as you get closer to the end you realise that you have some sort of a connection to the characters, even ones that you maybe didn’t like at the beginning of the book. At the end especially you realise the connection. You find yourself crying and laughing at the same time. At some points the book almost seems real, because the emotions you’re feeling are real.

Overall, I loved Me Before You. Jojo Moyes found a way of writing that made the story come to life. I wasn’t just reading the book, I felt like I was inside the story. I felt the pain, the anger, the joy, the sadness that the characters were feeling and for a book to make a person feel like that, then it’s a very good book in my opinion.

If you haven’t read Me Before You then I’d strongly recommend it. I couldn’t set it down and it was so good that the first thing I did when I got home from holiday was buy the sequel After You which I am currently reading.

Hope you guys enjoyed the post. I thought i’d try something different for a change from all the makeup posts. Leave me a comment if you think I should do more book reviews. Even give me names of some book you’d like me to review.

Until next time

Erin

